VCSS

Virginia Council for the Social Studies 

VCSS Past Teachers of the Year


2004|Mayo Carter from Chancellor MS
2005|Tara Riley Krohn form Woolridge ES
2006|India Sharpe Meissel from Lakeland HS

2008|Craig Blackman from Indian River HS
2009|Elva Card from W. T. Woodson HS

2010|Scott Mace from Charlottesville HS
2011|Roderick Zano from Princess Anne HS
2012|Katie Blomquist from Sunrise Valley ES
2013|Kelley Graves from Hickory MS
2014|Tanya Siwik from Garfield ES
2015|Patricia Carlson from Arlington MS
2016|Allen Ruliffson from Hilliard MS


2017|Could be you!

ABOUT US


The goals of the Virginia Council for the Social Studies are to foster professional growth, develop communication among stakeholders in the social studies community, and to promote the teaching of social studies in Virginia, the United States, and the international sphere. The Virginia Council of the Social Studies is an affiliate with the National Council for the Social Studies (NCSS).


Mission:  The Virginia Council for the Social Studies engages and supports Virginia educators in advocating and strengthening social studies.


Leadership

 

President

​Wesley Hedgepeth

wesleyhedgepeth@trinityes.org

Vice President:
Katie Blomquist
kjblomquist@fcps.edu

Treasurer & Membership Chair:
Matthew Atkinson
VCSSMEMB@gmail.com


Secretary
Amy Tomasulo
amy.tomasulo@vbschools.com

Legislative Liaison, Southside, and New River Valley:
Bill O'Sick
wosick@mail.dps.k12.va.us

Northern Virginia Representatives:
Tanya Siwik
Tanya.Siwik@fcps.edu


Kris Petersen
​kdpeterson@fcps.edu

Central Virginia Representatives:
Sarah McDermott (Independent Council)
sarahmcdermott@trinityes.org


Matt Atkinson

msatkinson@henrico.k12.va.us

Tidewater Representatives:
Meridith Breen
​mbreen@ycsd.york.va.us

India Meissel
indiameissel@spsk12.net

Western Virginia Representatives:
Allen Ruliffson

aruliffson@rockingham.k12.va.us

Web Builder:
Michael Hasley
mjhasley@henrico.k12.va.us