VCSS

Virginia Council for the Social Studies 

ABOUT US


The goals of the Virginia Council for the Social Studies are to foster professional growth, develop communication among stakeholders in the social studies community, and to promote the teaching of social studies in Virginia, the United States, and the international sphere. The Virginia Council of the Social Studies is an affiliate with the National Council for the Social Studies (NCSS).


Mission:  The Virginia Council for the Social Studies engages and supports Virginia educators in advocating and strengthening social studies.


Leadership

 

President

Katie Blomquist
kjblomquist@fcps.edu


Vice President:
Bill O'Sick
wosick@mail.dps.k12.va.us

Treasurer & Membership Chair:
Matthew Atkinson
VCSSMEMB@gmail.com


Secretary
Amy Tomasulo
amy.tomasulo@vbschools.com

Legislative Liaison, Southside, and New River Valley:
Bill O'Sick
wosick@mail.dps.k12.va.us

Northern Virginia Representatives:
Tanya Siwik
Tanya.Siwik@fcps.edu


Kris Petersen
​kdpeterson@fcps.edu

Central Virginia Representatives:
Sarah McDermott (Independent Council)
sarahmcdermott@trinityes.org


Matt Atkinson

msatkinson@henrico.k12.va.us

Tidewater Representatives:
India Meissel
indiameissel@spsk12.net


Meridith Breen
​mbreen@ycsd.york.va.us

Lisa Gibson
​Lisa.Gibson@vbschools.com


Western Virginia Representatives:
Allen Ruliffson

aruliffson@rockingham.k12.va.us

Past President:

Wesley Hedgepeth


Government and Public Relations:
Michael Hasley
mjhasley@henrico.k12.va.us